Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,


………………….

What do you do when your living room is full of too much junk?!?!

Do what I did……..

Just last week, after many years, God reminded me of a conversation He and I had, had some time ago. Actually, I suppose you can’t really call it a conversation because I did not speak, only He did. I simply listened – and learned.

Because what God spoke to me holds such great revelation, I thought I would take some time to share it with you all, believing that God is going to use His words to liberate some of you, as He did me, and give you courage to move forward into new and great things.

I can’t remember exactly how long ago it was now. Time has a way of slipping away from us before we know what has happened. All too soon, seconds turn into years and before we can even blink an eye, we are left standing with wide-eyed amazement wondering where life has gone. All I know is that it has been a while since God brought this deep and lasting revelation to me through my messy, cluttered KITCHEN!

As all women at some point do, I decided one evening that it was high time to clean out the kitchen – cupboards and all. I was determined that if I was going to clean, I was going to CLEAN. So, I rolled up my sleeves (figuratively) and got down to business. I was a cleaning machine that night!

As I began the process of “deep cleaning” our kitchen, I decided to do a complete overhaul! Instead of simply wiping down the easily seen areas that often get my attention, I resolved within myself to also get at the areas nobody ever sees. You know, the nooks and crannies!?!

And so it began! One by one, every item we owned was brought out of its hiding place where it had been safely nestled for who knows how long. Some things I found that night I didn’t even remember we had! Slowly but surely the cupboards were being emptied and the contents they held were being deposited onto the living room floor. I wish I would have thought to take a picture. It was quite an overwhelming site!

The night progressed and I was working like a fiend. Nothing was left untouched. Every square inch of that kitchen was getting worked over – including the interior of the refrigerator! Every crevice, every crack, every corner was bombarded by bleach and soap! When I was finished, our kitchen was so clean you could have eaten off the floor without advantage of a plate underneath you. No kidding. It was THAT clean!!

Well, I am not quite sure what happened to lure me to the other side of the house, but momentarily I left my rubber gloves lying on the kitchen counter and darted off to take care of whatever it was that had beckoned my attention. Finishing up the task, I began to walk back through the living room towards the kitchen when I stopped cold in my tracks, stunned at what I beheld! I could hardly believe my eyes! Standing in front of me, I was confronted by a site that I was totally unprepared for! In the midst of the furry of slinging suds, I had partially forgotten about all the STUFF I had pulled out of the kitchen. I mean, I knew I had pulled junk out of the way as I was cleaning, but I was completely oblivious to what was piling up in my living room. This ‘stuff’ was now staring me down, daring me to climb over it as I tried to muddle my way back to the freshly cleaned haven I had created. The pile of junk now residing on my living room floor was taunting me as if to say, “You thought you had gotten rid of me. Well, lookey here! What are you going to do with me now!?!” I had gotten so focused on the clean kitchen, I forgot about the junk that still had to be sorted through and dealt with. Here I thought I was nearly finished with my job when in reality, my chore was only half-way done.

As I looked over that huge pile of ‘mess’ glaring at me, I wondered what in the world I was going to do with it all and why in the world I had even started such a project in the first place. I came to realize what a hassle finishing this project was going to be and had I known this before I started, I probably wouldn’t have even begun the work in the first place. I am pretty sure I would have just cleaned up the outer “visual” areas that people see when they visit and just leave the rest alone. After all, that’s the way I had done for months anyway.

It was in that moment that God broke through and this is what He said to me:

“This is EXACTLY why some people don’t let Me in to the nooks and crannies of their soul. In order for Me to really clean them up, things have to get messy first. Sometimes, the process of cleaning makes a bigger mess. It is painful. It is time-consuming. It is tedious. It is ugly.  Some people would rather leave their ‘junk’ stuffed in the unseen recesses of their heart than deal with the time and energy and PAIN it takes to get rid of it all.”

WOW! Talk about revelation!!

Friends, if God is going to get your soul issues cleaned up and back in order, you may have to go through a little pain and ‘mess’. Old feelings of hurt and betrayal WILL surface, bringing back memories you would rather forget. That is all part of the process of healing and cleansing. In order for God to make you well, your life may go through a period of looking and feeling like a total ‘mess’ – like my living room, but it is all part of the process of alleviating ‘junk’ from your possession. You cannot throw away the ‘junk’ you don’t even remember you have. Once you see the junk and realize you still ‘own’ it – though it’s been long forgotten – you can give it to God and allow Him to throw it away once and for all.

No one said that the cleaning process God would take us through would be easy. It is this PROCESS that scares us to death. It is seeing all that is still inside of us that freaks us out. We try to deceive ourselves by stuffing the ‘junk’ away thinking that if we don’t see it any longer it must be gone, but the reality is that it IS still there, and – like the food in my refrigerator – it is rotting and decaying, causing stinky smells to emanate from our lives.

The bible says that there is nothing hidden that will not be brought into the open. (see Luke 8:17) We can fool ourselves only for a while, but sooner or later the ‘junk’ WILL surface! Without God, it’s ugly. With God, it’s healing.

Friends, wouldn’t it be better to just go ahead and cooperate with God and let Him clean you up now than to go through a stinky decaying period of inner soul decay that will surface later and cause people to shun you because of the ‘rottenness’ of your soul? Sure, it will be ‘messy’ and painful, but the benefits of a clean and tidy soul that is peaceful and ready to invite others in to a loving place is oh so worth it.

So, what are YOU going to do with the junk in YOUR ‘living room’?!?!

